A Little History


Since I have been furiously making items to sell at The Alliday Show and the Indie Emporium show, I decided I would give a little history on how I started working with paper clay.  It all began when I started renovating our 1910 home and wanted to add some pizzaz to our stairwell.  It was winter time and everything was dead and the skies were gray.  I love color and decided I wanted to do a dimensional wall mural that would reflect what I wanted to see when I looked out the window.  I began researching how I was going to accomplish this dimensional wall mural and came across paper clay.  Here is what I ended up with.

IMG_0018 IMG_0016 IMG_0024 IMG_0021 IMG_0027 IMG_0026


I almost immediately fell in love with how easy, lightweight and versatile paper clay is.  After this project I began looking for other ways to incorporate this medium into my creative endeavors.  I never would have guessed back then that I would figure out a way to make jewelry, lights and bowls using paper clay.

I’m curious as to what interesting mediums you have used in your creative endeavors?

Happy Creating!


About Kbenskin

Hello! My name is Krista Benskin and I am a self-taught artist and the one woman band known as Dazzling Peacock.    I am also a wife and proud momma to 3 cats and 1 incorrigible Corgi.  Our  4 fur babies often makes me feel as though we have kids especially when I catch myself getting onto the cats for antagonizing the dog, or being too rowdy in the house.  I enjoy having beautiful pieces throughout my home, but have reconsidered purchases in the past because all I could see were the shattered bits after a kitty chase gone bad.  Speaking with others who had the same issues as a result of either pets or children became the purpose for developing my paper mache line for all to enjoy. I feel that decor should reflect and bring together all personalities that will be using a living space. The decor pieces I create is a true celebration and opportunity to inject colorful and whimisical art into the home.  I create art that will always have a story because it is unexpectadley made out of paper, a story that will grow as it becomes part of your life.  I have had many ask me why I chose the name I did for my business instead of just using my own name.  Well, who doesn't want to be dazzled by the pieces that decorate their space? Aside from the fact that I am obsessed with peacocks, I also love that peacocks are a symbol of renewal.  Getting back in touch with my creative self and embarking on this business journey has been a definite period of renewal for me.  Also, I try to recycle materials in the production of each piece and use LED bulbs in the lighting.   Hence, the birth of Dazzling Peacock! My impetus for sharing my love of all things nature and those special furry and non-furry critters in our homes.

Leave a Reply

